Assignment 5: the 8-page Annual Review

This is an 8 page ‘annual review’, which I’m anticipating will be printed as an A4 booklet, medium quality. I’ve designed it as a spread to be printed double-sided onto A3, folded and stapled.  The covers need to line up therefore. It also needs to work as a downloadable pdf document.   As I’m trying to decide if my design process is really working,  this is a step-by-step pdf history of how I put the report together:
GAFS report v1
GAFS report v2
GAFS report v3
GAFS report v4
GAFS report v5
GAFS report v6
GAFS report v7

At this stage I made some more changes and reviewed it… Review point notes
And this is the final version: GAFS report v8 – final version

final front page layout

The statistics: the infographic on page 5 is part of the brief to make the financials look a bit more interesting. There aren’t enough items to play with really (4 for the income, 3 for the spends) so my idea was to use a basic recognisable graph convention > block graph, bars, pies – and illustrate it with a piece of furniture in relative sizes – these were the tryouts:

1st graph layout for income and expenditure

2nd graphic layout for income and expenditure

Basically, the block graph doesn’t make for very interesting shapes, and the bar graph wastes a lot of space, and looks tedious… decided to turn the bars round to fit the page space better, see below. The furniture shapes were added for emphasis later, on the page layout > see page 5 in the final version, above.

3rd graphic for income and expenditure

A note on fonts: I’ve used Century Gothic as the lead display font – also chosen for the (final) logo as it looks nice and clean and balanced with that particular set of characters. My second display font for the annual review is Chaparral Pro – as a heavy and chunky contrast, it’s mainly used for the ad on the back. The body font for print material is Myriad Pro as it works best at small sizes (Century Gothic doesn’t) – so this also works for the business cards and headed paper. I’ve used (safe choice) Verdana as the the body font for the web page. I’ve also used Minion Pro for the annual review footer (not sure why) and Stencil Std Bold for chunky-and-legible numbers on the stats graphic. Century Gothic numbers are a bit pathetic (in this context anyway!)

3 responses to “Assignment 5: the 8-page Annual Review

  1. Thanks for the info Pam.

  2. Pam Wright

    Hi Catherine, I use the Wordmark.it – http://Wordmark.it – tool where you enter a phrase, and it will show you what it looks like in all the fonts on your pc/laptop. Also follow the newsfeeds of outfits like fontshop, fontsquirrel, fontdeck etc on the hunt for good freebies

  3. Very well thought out Pam. I’m interested in your choice of fonts. Is there a book/website which you used to help you here? I’m interested because I’m just at the stage of putting captions to photographs, using InDesign.