Assignment 5: Visuals – logo, palette, illustration

The brief doesn’t give away a lot of clues, so I’m playing safe and following my research – aiming not to be gimmicky and evoke ‘crisp, clean, friendly and efficient’.

Logo – trying to avoid using images of vans and sofas.  Can’t think of any better images to use, so just play with the title text, which does have a nice ring to it.  Play with the acronym and the full name, and decide against using the acronym because it’s meaningless, and a bit counter to the idea of being ‘friendly’.  I like the font Century Gothic for this, as it’s open, clean and bold, and works well with this particular combination of characters (especially the ‘G’ and ‘A’ together).  However, can’t find anything I really like so decide to park it and come back to it later.

various logo designs

Typical photos – I’ve collected a set of photos from the websites/publications of similar organisations, aiming to be a representative sample of the photos that are likely to be used to describe this sort of organisation. Some are professional, some are not.  Colours and styles vary, and the furniture doesn’t look very appetising – but I like the idea of people being able to use their own photos, possibly taken on their phones – as a visual diary of their day to day activities, particularly for the website and flyers.  So, I’m looking for a way of making them look interesting and connected.

Colour palette – I wanted something fresh and clean to make the website attractive  to the  customers.  Preferring IKEA style and green/blue.  Thought about an alternative warm and welcoming red and orange theme, but having looked through my set of  ‘typical photos’ and looking at all the musty pink and brown sofas, I’ve decided to stick to the blue/green colours.  Later, I noticed my palette staring back at me from the kitchen windowsill…

picture collage of typical photos, furniture graphics, and blue-green palette

kitchen windowsill with blue and green labelling on soap and washing up bottles

To illustrate, I thought about using furniture symbols/icons, and looking around found a nice characterful set of furniture brushes I could use.  I also made my own set, but they didn’t look nearly as good.

hand drawn furniture images

drawn furniture icons

blue and green chairs

Comments are closed.