HG Wells bookcovers – what have I learned?

Half an hour in Waterstones has taught me that paperback book spines generally carry title, author and full publisher name, always read top to bottom, horizontal left to right.  They also generally use flat fonts on the covers, whatever the style, and there’s a lot of curly fonts around the fiction department.  And couldn’t find HG Wells anywhere in the obvious places, but ran out of time to look in the corners.

I’m finding the methodology (which is what this bit of the course is about I guess) is useful to get the ideas out.  I’m also keen on learning how best to get the ideas out quickly – hence set 2 the glass jug version, which took half an hour start to finish.  Also being able to pull in passing ideas like the reference to Red Sands, and current obsessions, like the Chen Qiulin video.

The bit that doesn’t sit easy is the whole thing about exploring options as obvious / radical creative – I don’t know why, I think it’s just semantics, I just don’t associate the word radical in that sort of way.  Consequently spent a bit of time playing with the words and the idea of continuums, and came to no conclusions of course.

Shape of things to comeAnyway, I like working in threes as about the right number of options anyone can cope with, so reasonably happy I came out of it with one main option > the first set, and a couple of alternatives.  I did have another idea in mind involving black and white newsprint type collage with bright bits, which I didn’t do anything with.  And I really like this one!

Comments are closed.